Holidays Part I: Orphan’s Thanksgiving

December 29, 2010

Oh for pete’s sake… yes, I am writing about Thanksgiving, because I can’t write about Christmas until I’ve covered Thanksgiving. It was so fun! Since living in Seattle my girlfriends and I have gotten together for Orphan’s Thanksgiving almost every year and we gather a group of people who don’t have other plans. Sean and I hosted this year and had 14 guests. Everyone brought a favorite holiday dish and somehow (my memory is a bit fuzzy here) we ended up with more wine than we started with. It pays to host the party! My favorite dish: cheesy onions. Do you want to know what’s in it? No, you don’t. Really. Trust me though, its delicious.

Over the years, I’ve learned a few things about Thanksgiving. The most important lesson has been to always make the “stick it” rolls ahead of time. It takes an entire day to make these rolls, but they’re a special treat once a year. Especially when you get to dip them in cheesy onions. The other lesson is to drink wine while cooking. That way you don’t get too stressed about having enough food or whether or not it will all turn out.

My friend Kelli came early and decorated the tables. She also put together this cute menu. We had a great time and I am very thankful for my friends. The evening ended with The Go-go’s channel streaming on Pandora and a spontaneous dance party in the kitchen. Totally normal.

Thanksgiving Menu by Kelli

Cranberry, Pear & Ginger Relish

Sean's Turkey

Bevy Bar

Thanksgiving Table dressed by Kelli

The famous homemade "stick it" rolls

Apple tart, pear tart, pumpkin bourbon cheesecake, pumpkin spice cake

Giving Thanks around the Table a la Kelli

The gang

The buffet

Cheers!

I was told to look somber like a proper pilgrim...

Post dinner dance party in the kitchen

One Response to “Holidays Part I: Orphan’s Thanksgiving”

  1. keldoo Says:

    EPIC party, yo! It was so fun to help and much more fun to DANCE!!! I love the high 5 with me & Patrick.

    Thanks again. I want some “stick it” rolls now, please.


Leave a Reply

