Getting comfortable with the idea of Fall

August 29, 2010

The light in the sky is changing and there is a slight chill in the air. I like to call it pre-Fall. Since we had such a late start to Summer, I feel weird admitting that I am excited for the change of season. Growing up in Michigan I experienced 4 very distinct seasons. Here in Seattle we have basically 2 seasons and the cold/grey season is the longest. So why am I feeling just a little excited?! Maybe because I get to pull my Hunter boots out of the closet. And my basket of scarves. I love them.

It’s been a while since my last garden update. I am happy to report nothing has died! In fact it seems that the plants are quite happy right where they are getting loads of sunshine and plenty of water.

I’ll hopefully get to make a few jars of pasta sauce with the tomatoes. I usually make a chunky tomato sauce with loads of garlic, shallots and white wine. The Cucumbers are basically just a method of transportation for hummus. I also like them in salad. If we get enough of them, I may try my hand at pickling. Finding a pickling recipe for Lemon Cucumbers has been tough. I may just try a few recipes and see what works best. Brussels Sprouts just seem like a Fall dish. SautĂ©ed with onion and sometimes a little bacon. Just for fun. They are comfort food. I didn’t realize I liked them until 4 or 5 years ago when I was living in Portland and made them as a side dish for Thanksgiving. I don’t remember having them often growing up in Michigan, or maybe like most kids, I turned up my nose when they made an appearance. I’m a big fan now.

It has been amazing to watch the tomatoes. I can’t believe how quickly they grow! This is a Speckled Roman variety tomato plant, and while it looks a little worse for wear, it seems happy and the tomatoes are getting bigger by the day. They look a bit like swollen peppers.

The Lemon Cucumber plant is my favorite. I love how it filled out and is creeping slowly and looking for a place to climb. The flowers that become the cucumber are pretty and it’s fun to watch the transformation.

The other morning while watering the plants I thought this little guy was getting trapped between the pot and vine, so I tried to move it gently but it came off. I think it is a little young yet, but I may try it this afternoon with some hummus. M’mmmm…

The Brussels! I started with 4 plants and 1 was losing the battle so I pulled it from the pot. I think this pot is a little small for 3, but we’ll see what happens. I have to do some research on how to maintain these as the sprouts grow. They are forming veeeerrrryyyy slowly in the armpit of each stem/leaf, but I heard somewhere that you have to snap off the bottom leaf to promote growth. I’m not convinced that I didn’t dream that, so I want to be sure. If you have advice I’d love to hear it!

Now I feel a bit more confident with my gardening skills. I’ve heard a rumor we might get a new P-Patch in Ballard, so I have to try to get my name on the list for a plot. Stay tuned…

We just got back from our San Juan boating trip. I’ll share the details soon. It was so relaxing.

hori hori dig dig!

2 Responses to “Getting comfortable with the idea of Fall”

  1. Jon Says:

    You are so good! Someday you will inspire me to try this on my own!

  2. plantsondeck Says:

    Your garden looks great! Aren’t lemon cucumbers wonderful little creatures? RE: Brussels — if your exposure to the little heads was anything like mine, they came out of a can (usually one with an orange and brown Meijer store-brand logo) and were promptly boiled to a gray, bitter, mushy death. You know, the way all good SW MI Dutchpeople prefer vegetables, in general. When I discovered that Brussels are actually firm little heads that grow from actual dirt and could be sliced in half and seared in bacon fat, I thought I’d died and gone to French heaven. Thanks for reminding me that fall’s not all bad.


Leave a Reply

