The Holidays and a 2010 Update

January 4, 2010

Oh my gosh, December felt like a whirlwind. I’ve been to Mexico (blog post to come later), did some cooking/baking, and then went to San Francisco for NYE.  I was so excited Sunday morning when I woke up in my own bed to a quiet house and enjoyed my cup of coffee (okay, pot of coffee) in the glow of my mini Christmas tree. I’m not really ready to get rid of my tree. I like the soft lighting in my house; it’s pretty. Is there some rule about how long you can keep it up? I hope not. I’m not talking about leaving it up until June, but maybe February-ish. I always feel like the Holidays come to such an abrupt end. I mean they cram the holiday spirit down our throats before Halloween now. I remember the days when you didn’t hear a Christmas song until the day after Thanksgiving. Those were the days… Here is my cute tree. My friend called it a pygmy.

I also have some news: I decided to quit my job a while ago, but today I made it official and gave my notice! I don’t have a plan, but I do have a mortgage. Crazy, I know. I’ve been feeling as though I need something new in my life and change was in the wind. I operate very well when I am scared to death, so this may work out perfectly!

I am preparing for the GMAT, soon to be unemployed, and wondering what I am supposed to do next. I am anxious, terrified but most of all excited! I’m thankful for the knowledge I’ve gained in my current position and the friends I’ve met along the way. Here’s to new beginnings!

I’ve just leapt off the cliff. Please feel free to share you thoughts… or just tell me I’m a nutter.

hori hori dig dig!

7 Responses to “The Holidays and a 2010 Update”

  1. keldoo Says:

    Nutter butter is delicious. You go, kid. I am very proud of you & your pygmy tree. Just be sure to water it so it don’t catch fire, mmkay?!!!

    XO

  2. Deboah Iverson Says:

    Jaime — what exciting news! You certainly will be missed @ HAL! I’ve been waiting to get ahold of you until I read your Christmas/NewYears blog.
    And what a surprise! Well, not really. You alluded to it earlier. I’m proud of you for carrying through.
    Do stay in touch! I’d love to take you to lunch to celebrate…and hear all about it.
    Always enjoy your blog. Deborah

  3. Kay Says:

    That’s a brave move and I can totally relate since I did the same thing about a year ago (I then proceeded to move to a new town in a different state and start my own business…) You never know where life will take you if you listen to your heart, which is what you sound like you are doing! Congrats and enjoy the adventure.

  4. darrah Says:

    Bravo!!! I know how big a deal this is because I just quit my job about two months ago. And I didn’t really have a plan either. For me, the idea of staying in the job was scarier than leaping into the unknown. And I have to tell you, I still don’t know exactly what I’m doing but I have never regretted my decision.

    Congratulations on your new beginning! I can’t wait to see where your journey takes you next.

    And, by the way, if you’re a nutter, then I’m a nutter. And I’m a-okay with that!


    • Thanks for the kind words, Darrah! I am really excited to see what comes next as well. I have an overwhelming sense of calm right now, which doesn’t really make sense to me, but I’m just rolling with it! I am glad to hear you are doing well!


Leave a Reply

