Dinner Rolls from Scratch…the Warmup

November 21, 2009

I found this dinner roll recipe in Saveur Magazine about 6 years ago and I’ve been making them for Thanksgiving almost every year since. Most people go for store-bought rolls for Thanksgiving since the focus is mostly on the bird and other dishes (rightly so). Considering all the cooking, baking, traveling and organizing that is required around the holidays I think if people added home made rolls to their list of to-do’s, we’d find a few too many ladies (and gents) with their heads in the oven! They really are a major pain in the tuckus, but here’s the thing, I love them. Right out of the oven they are the softest, pillowiest, lightest, slightly sweet little lovelies you’ve ever seen! Women all over America (and some of the boys) are dusting off their cookbooks and utensils to bring a new dish sure to please, or an old favorite that everyone raves about each year. I bring rolls (and a few other things if my hosts will let me!).

This year I am practicing a week ahead of time, mostly to see if they taste good after being baked, frozen and reheated. If they do, then I don’t need to kill myself to make them the day of Thanksgiving. Getting up at 6 a.m. doesn’t sound good at all. No thank you. Look at this super cute apron my friend Noel sent me for my birthday! Thanks Noel, I love it!

When I make this recipe I usually have to do a couple batches of the yeast, because almost always one of them fails.

After adding the milk mixture and eggs to the yeast, I pulled out the Kitchenaid mixer. I love it, love it, love it.

The dough had to rise for 3 hours, then I rolled it out and, because I don’t have a biscuit cutter, I used a short glass to cut out the rolls.

After dipping each lovely roll into the butter (m’mmmmm), I lined them up on the pan and let them rise for another 2.5 hours. Patience…

Pop them in the oven for 15-20 minutes and voila! I made a note to only put 10 per row instead of 12, they were falling out of the pan!

This year I discovered the wonders of Plugra butter. I’m pretty sure it may be the key to the kingdom! My girlfriends came over for mexi food last night, and we ended up having these rolls with butter for dessert. Omg…freshly baked rolls and real butter. Words cannot describe…

I grew up surrounded by a large extended family and Thanksgiving was always at Grandma and Grandpa’s house. I was lucky enough to be surrounded by good cooks. Unfortunately it didn’t rub off on me until I was much older. I remember arriving at Grandma & Grandpa’s house and when I walked in it would be toasty warm and smelled amazing. I don’t remember if anyone made rolls from scratch at our Thanksgivings, but I ‘m not sure it mattered. It was always nice just to have everyone together. And there was no shortage of food!

Have a wonderful Thanksgiving!

hori hori dig dig!

2 Responses to “Dinner Rolls from Scratch…the Warmup”

  1. Emily Says:

    These are wonderful!!! Thank you.

  2. Hugh Says:

    Looking fwd to them! Your gallette was awesome!!


Leave a Reply

