Seattle Tilth-tastic

September 5, 2009

I made it to a Seattle Tilth garden crew volunteer session this morning. It rained earlier, and it has been one of those pre-fall, blustery, it might rain again kind of days, but warm enough to wear a t-shirt. I love days like this! Perfect gardening weather. I think I should explain a bit more about what Seattle Tilth is about and why I love them. Tilth’s mission is this:

“Seattle Tilth inspires and educates people to garden organically, conserve natural resources, and support local food systems in order to cultivate a healthy urban environment and community”

Next week is the annual Harvest Fair. I’ve been meaning to go for 2 years now and this year I will be volunteering most of the day at the event. I can’t wait. Harvest Fair is a celebration of local food, teaching people about urban gardening, raising urban livestock, eating fresh food and getting together with the community. I think food brings people together and I’m looking forward to learning from all the gardeners and gardener hopefuls (like me)! Also, Tilth has a children’s garden. How cute is that?

P1010933

Today, at the Good Shepherd Center location in Wallingford I harvested lemon cucumbers (so, so cute), tomatillos, basil, beans, tomotoes and chard. We also weeded the garden and prepared a bed for cover crops to let the soil rest a bit.

P1010936

Here is my bounty from today! I am going to make chicken enchiladas with tomatillo salsa this weekend. M’mmmmmm….

P1010940

hori hori dig dig!

Leave a Reply

