M’mmm Breakfast in Ballard

August 23, 2009

Portage Bay Cafe recently opened in Ballard. I learned my lesson the last time I tried the new Portage Bay Cafe in South Lake Union. I waited a while before attempting to have breaky at the new location so that all the kinks would be worked out. There is nothing worse than a bad breakfast experience!

P1010877

First, let’s discuss the toppings bar. I’ve never experienced such a thing before dining at Portage Bay. The toppings bar consists of a large bar-height table that is filled with large bowls of all things sweet and delicious. Whipped cream, butter, blueberries, strawberries, brown sugar, syrup, nuts (not my favorite as I am allergic, but for those of you who are nut fans…I gather you would enjoy it). You get the idea. Lord have mercy… I could just roll around on that table (sans nuts)!

There is always a line at PBC for this reason: the food is great. Breaky is a treat for me. I have a fruit smoothie every day during the week for breakfast, so having someone cook me eggs, bacon (you will often here me rant about how much I love bacon) and french toast is simply delightful. At PBC they serve you coffee while you wait, and they are kind enough to cover their entry way with posters of events happening around town. A little reading material for you. How nice. Today we sat at the bar, so we didn’t have to wait as long.

PBC is also just a hop, skip and jump from the Ballard Locks, so you can take a nice little stroll after your trip to the toppings bar. You can enjoy the gardens, fish ladder and watch the boats go through the locks (there is always some good boat drama!).

hori hori dig dig!

P1010875

P1010878

3 Responses to “M’mmm Breakfast in Ballard”

  1. keldoo Says:

    I was retelling my yard of our first Portage Bay visit just the other day RE: bacon in my vegan hash. Boo. Now that I’m back on the egg & dairy train, perhaps I could give the toppings bar a go. And as long as our last waitress didn’t transfer to the Ballard locale, I may be give it a whirl!

  2. keldoo Says:

    I mean my yarn. Not my yard. Well, in truth, I was talking to my lawn, so it’s not entirely inaccurate.

  3. Trevor Says:

    Nice work Jaime, this is what us outatowners look for when we want to get to know the PNW. T


Leave a Reply

